A Poetry of Elephants – Sunday March 19th at 2.30-4.30pm in the Ice Factory, Somerset Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8EN inc tea & cakes (part of the Teignmouth Poetry Festival)

 

I will be reading as part of this event. Here is one of my poems from the anthology:

Elephant

 

I am slow.

I am sway.

I am echo.

The great earth holds me.

I am ship. I am flow.

My bones are of whales.

I am large and grateful. I move with no hurry.

There is time. We have time.

Watch my eye. With it I see you and the shine of colour,

which fills me till my grey skin rustles.

I know there is an always happiness here

even in the mud. The frog knows.

Follow me.

We will go in procession.

Follow and feel the rhythm of my walk.

Slow, slow.

My steps sway you,

I will rock you to beyond yourself.

Be yourself

Be more than you have ever been.

Be what you have always been.

Be with me.

Be with me.

Follow. Follow me.

 

 

by Rose Cook

5 thoughts on “A Poetry of Elephants – Sunday March 19th at 2.30-4.30pm in the Ice Factory, Somerset Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8EN inc tea & cakes (part of the Teignmouth Poetry Festival)

  1. So glad you will be reading at the festival. Coincidentally, just yesterday, I was just reading this poem of yours in my copy of the anthology. Love the sense of movement and wisdom.

  2. Reblogged this on Rebecca Gethin and commented:
    You can read Rose Cook’s wonderful poem that heads up A Poetry of Elephants here, complete with a frog. You could also come to Teignmouth Poetry Festival and hear the World Premier of the anthology with 17 other poets reading their poems from the book, telling new ones and we have a folk song or two and lots of buns. This event will never be repeated with so many elephant poets and so is guaranteed to be unique! You can book in advance or get tickets on the door… though they might run out!

Leave a Reply

